Russia, Iran, others sign deal on Caspian Sea’s legal status

SEE – August 12th: Russia, Iran, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, and Turkmenistan signed on Sunday a convention on the Caspian Sea’s legal status, a matter disputed between the five for more than two decades, Reuters reported.

The leaders of the five countries who gathered in the Kazakh port city of Aktau to sign the document provided no details of the agreement in their speeches before the signing.

Prior to signing, Iranian President Hassan Rouhani stated that the delimitation of oil- and gas-rich Caspian seabed will require additional agreements between littoral nations. 

Iran, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan have for more than two decades contested the ownership of several oil and gas fields in the Caspian Sea.

Leave your vote

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hey there!

Forgot password?

Forgot your password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.


Processing files…